Behold The Superpower of the Father-Daughter Bond


dad_daughterAfter years of being the top nurturer, playmate, errand co-pilot and snuggler to our little person of Earth, Supermom has been overtaken.

The weapon is more powerful than kryptonite or a magic lasso.

Few would ever suspect that an unassuming dad who is regularly dressed in a business suit and loafers or a t-shirt and shorts, could be powerful enough to overcome the words, “I want mommy!”

Behold!

It’s the unbreakable superpower of the Father-Daughter bond possessed only by Superdad.

Even though Supermom has ruled on the planet “Cling-on” for years, Superdad would predict, “It’s only a matter of time until I’m the favorite. Β There’s nothing more powerful than the Father-Daughter bond.”

That time has come.

I don’t know why I ever denied this superpower since I have the same bond with my own Superdad.

We enjoy one another’s company without bickering and offering unsolicited advice.

We actually LISTEN to each other.

I knew our daughter had been overtaken by the Father-Daughter bond after observing a change in her behavior.

She started watching the college women’s world series championship game over and over again, rooting for her father’s alma mater.

More time was spent in the Man Cave, not playing with her toys, but watching SportsCenter along with making demands like, “Hey mom, why don’t you dish us up a couple of bowls of ice cream and pour us a couple glasses of milk and bring it down.”

After witnessing that adoring grin on her face that stretches from ear to ear when she is holding her dad’s hand, I knew it was the end of an era.

The end of my rule on the planet “Cling-on.”

superdogSo with respect, I hand over my rule to Superdad on this Father’s Day weekend and accept my new role to our person of Earth.

At least Superdog still likes me best, which just may be the next Supermom vs. Superdad challenge in our house.

176 thoughts on “Behold The Superpower of the Father-Daughter Bond

  1. Awww, Terri, that was really kind of a tear jerker . . . ‘specially to those of us who don’t have our Daddys but sure remember that special bond. . . and to those of us who, like you, remember well when our own little girls discovered Mr. Wonderfulness (aka Daddy) lived in our house! Actually, you will find it ‘ain’t all bad’ . . . . I will wait for your next chapter on that subject. Keep up the good work!!!

  2. I read this last night and loved it, but couldn’t see clearly enough through the tears in my eyes to comment! It is perfect & so heartwarming.

    How lucky for Gracie & John & you!

    Hope your Superdads have a Super weekend!

  3. Great post, and I am so guilty of the same. I just wrote a thing about my own daddy-daughter bond, (sport and driving being a large part of it) but rest assured your time is not completely done. Sometimes, a girl just needs her mum. Normally when cricket (or, I assume, baseball?) will not cut it.

    • Thank you. Yes, it’s baseball and about every other sport, depending on the season. Though, Indianapolis will be hosting a big cricket tournament in the future. I loved you post by the way. Just commented.

      • I have never heard of cricket in the US! Get your daughter to go along if it is a one day-er or a T20 tournament, those are the two (kind of) fast-paced versions. Thanks for the comment. It is interesting to see things from a parent’s point of view and wonder if that is how my mum felt about me…

  4. For a long time I was an only child, mom got pregnant and it was a boy, I was happy about that, because I was still daddy’s girl. But then I found out mom was pregnant again after a few years, I was so afraid it’s going to be girl, taking my place. I prayed so hard for it to be a boy, and quess what, it was a girl! But with a wonderful father at my side, she got her own place, and mine was still mine

  5. Little girls are special to us. And its strange. Mine doesn’t hit or throw the ball as far as the boys (she;s damn close to it though), she isn’t into hunting or fishing as much as them, but she sticks out to me. It must be all the pretty little stuff. Her eyes mesmerize me. And it warms my heart every time she flashed the “I love you” hand sign.

  6. yep, there’s definitely a different bond between Dad’s and daughters – my husband had never cried at a wedding before his daughter’s but now he cries at every single one because he says he knows just how the Dad walking his daughter down the aisle feels. His girls adore him and he is a fabulous Dad but all of these SuperDads are a little more Super thanks to the private nudges, special looks and brief but essential explanations we help them out with through the years…… and of course for us ex-SuperMoms that is reward enough πŸ˜‰

  7. Another blogger here with first-person experience of the father-daughter bond thing. My mom used to call us Frick and Frack since we were inseparable and in some ways indistinguishable, especially when it came to hobbies. Superdads are the best thing ever. πŸ™‚

  8. So cute! I think my mom used to get jealous when my sister and I always wanted our dad to do things with us. He was the “fun” parent, after all. I love it when fathers want to be a big part of their kid’s lives.

    • Sometimes it’s hard being the bad cop, however, it works both ways. I agree, it makes a huge difference when fathers, and mothers, for that matter want to be a big part of their kid’s lives.

  9. Oh, yes, I could see this happening with #1 (our son, but he still had a pretty strong mummy attachment for a while). I really identify with this — on the one hand I loved that he was getting some real Daddy time and that it wasn’t all about me. On the other hand, I did get a sense of ‘WHY DO YOU NOT LOVE ME ANYMORE!!’

    Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! I’m told, there is an equal bond with Supermoms and their sons. I understand the mixed emotions of enjoying a some much needed “me time” and missing the monopoly of attention.

  10. My dog still likes me best. Actually, my dog still knows that I am the boss. She may actually like my son best, especially when he comes home once a month and gives her his version of a walk (an all out run for both of them). Great post. I used to call my daughter a barnacle.

  11. I bonded with my own “Superdad” at a much younger age. If he wasn’t home in time to read to us before bed, I couldn’t sleep. We started rooting for his alma mater around age four, dressing our dolls up as cheerleaders. He taught us to tie our shoes, and my sister read her first words on his lap. When we asked what he did at work or school, he’d go on and on about physics, engineering, and architecture, hoping that someday we’d understand it all. Our favorite place was the physics playground of the local children’s museum. It is indeed a beautiful thing to have two parents to learn from and “take after”.

    • Don’t be too discouraged. The attention comes and goes for both parents, however, your special bond will always be there. A girl just needs her mom for certain things as she matures.

  12. One of the best things ever happening to me was to become the dad of a daughter! And now that she is 20, I am already getting worked up about which Superman will be good enough to come and ask for her hand… Me and my sons can be quite dangerous if somebody tries to break her heart…

  13. My daughter (8) only wants mummy if she is sick. Properly sick, all over the bed sick…. How does that work? In the car, she had a 10 minute chat with her baby brother about how daddy was awesome which was followed by why mummy is, well, not. Sigh. I will remember this when she wishes me to vote for her against daddy in the teenage years for getting her ears pierced and going out late her friends….. Lovely post. x

  14. Love the way you’ve written this! My 3.5 year old is still in the ‘cling to mummy’ stage, so I better enjoy it before the father-daughter bond becomes stronger. Maybe I’ll get a dog when the time is right:-)

  15. I do share a similar bond with my daughter and infact have blogged on the same. I cherish the memories of being a father for my daughter each and every moment…

  16. I envy you. I have two daughters who I love dearly but communication is always been difficult. That is just the way it is. My wife on the other hand has a pretty open ended communication network. My son is more difficult for both of us. Our grandchildren are pretty open to both of us.

    • I think it’s harder without a common interest. For them, it’s sports and she became interested to get his attention. It sounds like you are really enjoying being a Grandpa. My dad says he never imagined how much enjoyment he would get out of having a grandchild – so different than being a parent.

  17. Wonderfully written! I hope I can be a Superdad to my two little girls one day. The value of a strong father-daughter relationship has such amazing reach. From what a girl decides to wear and how she carries herself to the man she is drawn to as her mate. Great post!

  18. wow just love it !! Very good, interesting….Love the way you write things . I loved your blog caption and read your posts cuz of it and I love it !! πŸ™‚ xx

  19. …one of the rare moments where I feel glad to have a boy than a girl πŸ™‚ (since I myself am a firm believer in the “super power” of a dad-daughter bond; having been part of one)

  20. such a great post. could not have had a better start to my day. i’ve definitely always been a daddy’s girl but i saw this relationship form between my sister and our dad. it’s such a beautiful and somewhat mysterious thing.

    p.s. LOVE the metaphor of superman’s fathers you used πŸ™‚

  21. This made me smile and remember my own father πŸ™‚ He’d have appreciated this. Thanks for sharing!

  22. I love this post because it’s so relatable! I am a total Daddy’s Girl! Don’t worry mom, that precious angel is still going to come your way. Daddy will NEVER be as good as you when it comes to comfort or making the tears hurt just a little less πŸ™‚

  23. What a wonderful post, it’s so lovely that you have this bond. There are a lot of children who miss out on such bonds due to dads not being around and there are also a lot of dads missing out on these bonds because of selfish mums. I wrote a post to stick up for fathers so I completely agree with this post

  24. I love how you refer to her as “your person of earth” that’s classic. I also love the dog. πŸ™‚ I hear you on the changing of the guard that just happened to me but with my daughter’s boyfriend.

  25. So much truth…..my daughter interacts with me in a way completely different than her mother. Another interesting aspect is how a such a different bond exists in my relationships with my daughter and son. With my daughter there’s this inner connection….like we’re inseparable. Even though my son and I are very close, it’s seemingly more “external”. Yet, both relationships are adventures in their own right.

  26. The dog looks great πŸ™‚ The bond between a father and daughter that you’ve written about sounds beautiful! I myself have never experienced it. your daughter is extremely lucky to have such a bond with her father πŸ™‚

  27. Being “My Father’s Daughter”, as my Mom used to call me, this post definitely resonates with me. Do not fear though… there *are* some things only a Mother can share with her daughter. I learned this later in life from my Mom. Your daughter *will* come back to you. Be ready when she does. πŸ™‚

Your Comment May Be Better Than Story, Please Leave One...

