Laugh Away Mommy Martyrdom With Janet Frongillo’s New Book: Mommy Mixology


What happens when you blend the wit of Erma Bombeck and the Tiki-like cocktail recipes of master mixologist, Trader Vic?

You get Janet Frongillo’s debut book, Mommy Mixology – A Cocktail for Every Calamity.

I met Janet at the 2012 Erma Bombeck Writer’s Workshop and was introduced to her hilarious blog, Muffintop Mommy.  She never fails to generate a loud cackle out of me every time I read her posts.

Janet’s motto is don’t be a mommy martyr, take time to relax and enjoy yourself because you deserve it.

Mommy Mixology is a fun mix of laugh-out-loud parenting anecdotes from conception through kindergarten – each with an accompanying cocktail recipe.

My personal favorites are the “Emergentini…because on the parenting scale of frightening stuff, there’s nothing scarier than a trip to the emergency room. Shake vigorously. (Or just hold it-you’ll be shaking anyway!)”

And, the salute to the involuntary loss of IQ points that having a baby brings in the form of the “Banana Baby Brain” – a delicious blend of coconut rum, lime juice, sugar and banana for sipping while watching the Jersey housewives.

Move over Dr. Spock because Ms. Frongillo certainly knows a thing or two about being in the throes of mothering.

After experiencing fertility issues (the book also contains some yummy non-alcoholic  drinks such as the “Fertile Myrtle Mimosa” and the “Watermelon Weigh-In”), she and the “hubs” were gifted three boys in a four-year span.

Her mix of breezy snark, pop culture references and unabashed honesty makes you feel like you’re sitting at her kitchen table laughing with an old friend about the trials and tribulations of motherhood.

A self-admitted fashion tragedy, she tells us that she wrote the book’s Introduction in her snowman jammies.  And claims that in the third grade, she was gifted a “muffintop” in lieu of boobs, hence the “Muffintop Mudslide.”

Not only does Janet approach being a mother to her “frat house” – as she refers to her three young boys under seven years – with a sense of humor, she reminisces with fondness on those long, hard early days of parenting.

To Janet, a smile from her boys with the words, “I love you Mommy” can erase the fact that they just Sharpied her cabinets as quick as a few swipes of superfine grit sandpaper (which really did happen to her recently).

Parents-to-be and new parents will appreciate her candor on everything from potty-training to dealing with the PTA.

Parents of older children will fondly look back on those early years and think, “it wasn’t quite so bad, maybe we should have had another.”

I hope this is the first of many books to come from Janet Frongillo.

I’m counting on her to keep me laughing from the tween to the teen years, which begs for a Mommy Mixology series.

Tween Tonic?  I’m keeping my lime-wheels handy.

Mommy Mixology published by Ulysses Press is now available in bookstores and on Amazon.com.

© 2012 Terri Spilman

16 thoughts on “Laugh Away Mommy Martyrdom With Janet Frongillo’s New Book: Mommy Mixology

  1. How about a “Teenager Tequila Sunrise?” This being Friday, that sounds pretty good to me right about now. Great post as always, Terri. I took a peek at Janet’s blog, loved it, and signed up to follow it. I’ll also check out her book.

    And I look forward to when you and I can someday meet up at a writing or blogging conference. I think we’d have one hell of a good time! :-D

    • I could use a Teenager Tequila Sunrise about now. I was trying to post this for 3 hours with kids running in and out. You’ll love Janet and you’ll get a kick out of her book. And yes, we would have a blast at a blogger conference! They only do Erma every two years – which you would love as well.

  2. Great post…you don’t mind if I pull a “Fareed Zakaria” from Time Magazine and just cut and paste this for my site?! KIDDING! What a brilliant job you did. When my book comes out, I’m hitting you up girl! You totally rock and Janet deserves this. Such a great gal and book. Every mom who likes a cocktail and a giggle should get this book!

  3. What a funny idea for a book! I wonder what mom of 3 has time to pull out a blender and make cocktails though. ;-) My 2 boys are a year and a half apart and I’m glad I stopped after that, or I’d have wanted to write this book too…

    • Yes, it’s a big job. That’s why the book is so great – she inspires you to take a little time for yourself. I wish I would have had something like this to read when mine was a baby. Would have relaxed more!

  4. Love it! I will look for this book and make notes in the margin like every good experimenter (after all, I don’t want to be a mommy martyr!)!!

  5. Great review, Laughing Mom! Also received a copy to review, will be doing so soon. Janet is a close friend. That’s right, I’m bragging. ;)

Your Comment May Be Better Than Story, Please Leave One...

