100 Posts – The Laughing Mom Makes The Smucker’s Jar of Blogging


“Ahhh, look at her!  The old gal doesn’t look a day over 99 posts.  She’s been milk’in the heck out of that free Farrah Fawcett look-alike illustration by the artist with beer-googles on at the company holiday party.  The Laughing Mom says she keeps her writing fresh thanks to her funny family, total lack of willpower and being raised with the boob-tube, who she considers to be a fourth sibling.  Happy 100 posts – posts?  What in the sam-heck is a post?  Is she building a fence?” -An imagined congratulatory message from Willard Scott.

It’s hard to believe I am writing my 100th blog post.  It’s even more incredulous that people are still actually reading them.

I never expected to make new friends through blogging, as I explained when I received my first Versatile Blogger Award from fellow blogger, Kate from Kate’s Channel.

Even though I was a girl scout drop out, I am pretty lucky to earn some serious blog flare and could really use a sash about now to store my badges on.  Here’s a list of the awards and writer’s who were kind enough to pass them on to me.

  1. Kreativ Blogger Award, Lisa from Main Street Musings.
  2. ABC…Awesome Blog Content Award, Hugmamma’s Mind Body and Soul.
  3. The Candle Lighter Award, Hugmamma’s Mind Body and Soul.
  4. Liebster Blog Award, Kate from kateschannel.
  5. The Versatile Blogger Award, Renee from Pooter and Booger’s Place.
  6. The Lovely Blog Award, Stacy from Nonsense to Momsense.
  7. The Illuminating Blog Award, Stacy from Nonsense to Momsense.

I also highly recommend visiting writers listed on my Blog Roll.  They are all very funny and interesting in their own way.

It’s been a fabulous journey transforming from a housewife who wrote her first blog entry about a sexy fireman in the school library, to now being a gainfully employed mid-lifer who has been Freshly Pressedpublished in the local newspaper and had the privilege of attending the 2012 Erma Bombeck Writer’s Workshop.

Who knows what the next 100 posts will bring.  When you live with the motto, “at least it will make a good story,” anything is possible.

© 2012 Terri Spilman

26 thoughts on “100 Posts – The Laughing Mom Makes The Smucker’s Jar of Blogging

  1. When things turn to sh#t around here, as they often do, that’s what I always say. “At least I’ll get a post out of this.”
    Congrats, lady! oooxooo

  2. Loved this post! And I love your new header too–it looks great. Very warm and welcoming, not to mention professional looking. Congrats on your 100 posts! Keep up the good work! P.S.. Thanks for the mention on your award list and blogroll. I’m honored to be linked to your site!

  3. 100 posts! Congratulations!!!
    It is so good to read your stuff! And the new blog looks great!
    Thanks again for having me in your blog roll – I do have a little adjustment to it, though, if you don’t mind?
    Auer Life has moved to my tumblr site… http://kerstinauer.tumblr.com
    I promise it’s still funny, especially when I make fun of my husband’s English 🙂
    Looking forward to seeing more!

  4. Congratulations! I like the new blog look and now it gives you an incentive to write another 100 posts. I’m always at 200 and I’m not sure how I got there… but the point is to have fun along the way.

  5. Writing = Laughing = Living! Congratulations, and [clink!] here’s to many more. Oh – and thanks so much for adding me to your blog roll 🙂

  6. Woo Hoo! Here’s to making 100! Love the new look. Before kids (when I used to watch early morning TV) I used to love the Smucker birthdays on the Today Show.

  7. Back here to tell you I love your blog design! I don’t know how i missed it last time, but it looks fantastic.
    And a HUGE THANK YOU! for putting me on your blogroll. Too kind!
    oooxoooo

    • Thank you for taking the time to come back and let me know. I totally changed it on a whim. It’s my pleasure to include you. You write some very funny stuff. Loved the cube piece!

    • Wella Balsam, that’s an awesome idea! Way better than trying to duplicate Farrah’s iconic poster where she poses in her bathing suit. I’ll save thousands of corneas that way as well – her poster being a little more easy on the eyes!

Your Comment May Be Better Than Story, Please Leave One...

