Kicking Back The Stone As Thanks To A Versatile Blogger


If anyone has an extra Blogging For Dummies book, I could sure use a copy.   When I made the decision to start my blog, thelaughingmom, I barely researched platforms, quickly set up my page and blindly started writing.  I didn’t follow any blogs at the time because I just wasn’t that interested in reading about every milestone in the lives of strangers.  I was motivated by essayists such as Erma Bombeck and Laurie Notaro.  It wasn’t until one of my posts appeared on Freshly Pressed (the front page of WordPress.com) that my eyes were opened to the world of fellow bloggers and blogging etiquette.

WordPress bloggers from all over the world, who were total strangers, actually took time out of their busy day to read my post and many made comments.

 “Congratulations!”

“Enjoy the ride.” 

“I love your voice.” 

Just to name a few of the well wishes.  And they were all from writers.  People who understand that when you have a story inside of your head that is dying to come out, you are obsessed until you can steal a few extra minutes, or in some cases, spend hours self-editing and previewing just to perfect those 700 words.  Fellow bloggers can also empathize with the pit that quickly invades your stomach every time you press the “Publish” button sending your over-nursed random thoughts into cyberspace.  They also understand the obsession with checking your site statistics to see who and what your visitors are reading.  And, when that email comes through with the “comment” subject line, you know you’ve struck gold and are oddly satisfied until you get an urge to write another post.

It’s hard to maintain and build relationships if you are only a taker.  Years ago, a good friend once pointed out while walking to class, every time she kicked a stone, I never kicked it back.  I didn’t even realize I was doing it.  If you are going to write, you also need to read.  Some of the most interesting stories aren’t being told by accomplished writers.  They are being told by bloggers who are writing on behalf of their hearts, not their wallets.  Well, about 9 in 10 of them are hoping an editor just happens to stop by their blog, but most are writing because it’s a passion.

Last month, a blogger buddie, Kate from kateschannel bestowed upon me a Versatile Blogger award, in which she named my blog as one of her top 15 favorites.  Mentioned were the following award guidelines to be followed by all recipients:

  1. Thank and link to the person who nominated you
  2. Share seven random facts about yourself
  3. Pass the award along to 15 new-found blogging buddies
  4. Contact those buddies to congratulate them

I thanked her for the award and moved on.  Since I don’t read that many other blogs, I had no clue that this award is considered somewhat of an honor in the blogging community until I stumbled upon bronxboy55′s post.  I felt like an idiot because I thought it was some sort of blogger chain letter and I completely ignored it.  Just like several hundred people didn’t get recipes or dish towels when I broke those chains. 

  1. So Kate, I’m kicking the stone back and publicly thanking you for giving me the award.
  2. Here are 7 random facts about myself:  (1.)  I am a self-diagnosed narcoleptic which is why I have a hard time reading because I fall asleep easily; (2.)  I’ve lived in Indiana, Kentucky, Arizona, Ohio and New York; (3.)  My very first job in advertising was working for Penthouse magazine (a story in itself – market research, not editorial research); (4.)  I love to walk and would probably drop dead if I had to run even 1/8 mile; (5.)  My first concert was being dragged as a child to see Elvis Presley who I loathed at the time but think is pretty cool now; (6.)  I use the words “awesome” and “cool” far too frequently; (7.) The songs on my iPod are from Hannah Montana, SpongeBob, Michael Jackson and Justin Bieber, because my daughter has hijacked it.
  3. I am socially challenged off the keyboard, so expect no less online.  I don’t know 15 bloggers.  However, in addition to kateschannel, I highly recommend a few others I read regularly:  Lifeflipping, Not Drowning Mothering and Pooterandboogersplace.  Just as blogging imitates real life, I read a few others, but I can’t remember their names.  If I need to read anyone else’s blog, please let me know.  I’m willing to try to remember the URL, try not to fall asleep while reading it and promise to comment.
  4. The sad truth is, I probably won’t contact any of the Versatile Blogger award recipients to congratulate them unless they already subscribe to my blog and can read about it themselves.  You know, that old “I only speak when spoken to first” excuse which is a highly effective habit of socially challenged people.

So the moral of the story is, be kind to your fellow bloggers, follow blogging etiquitte and READ, READ, READ!  Then, COMMENT, COMMENT, COMMENT! And last but not least, THANK, THANK, THANK…unless you are socially challenged then you can think about thanking and write a post about never doing it.

16 thoughts on “Kicking Back The Stone As Thanks To A Versatile Blogger

  1. I just started my blog today, and am trying my hardest to read, read, read around so that I can get a feel for who’s out there! After reading this I realise how important it actually is! 🙂

  2. You blogging and social etiquette is just fine in my book. Writing, blogging and the use of social media are all areas I am learning more and more about every day. Just think, a decade ago we didn’t have the access we now have to all these talented — yourself included — writers. It’s a fabulous world for finding an audience, writing practice, inspiration, giggles and more.

  3. Love the honesty. My confession: I didn’t start my blog to be a BLOGGER. I started my blog to WRITE.

    But the more I write, the more I love the writing of others (particularly other women/moms/kindred spirits).

    So glad to have found you. Congrats on your award!! —ryan

  4. Ryan, I just had an epiphany when I read your comment. I called myself that b-word, “a blogger.” The desire to write is why I started too. I wonder if attending conventions is next! Great comment.

  5. Thanks so much for your gracious mention! I totally relate to your lack of awareness about our blogging community. I think I’d been posting12-14 weeks when the fabulous Amiable, Amiable from Big Happy Nothing’s blog nominated me. I was on vacation and had no idea I needed to pay this forward. Of course, I’ve learned since, and do feel like an ungrateful lout now, but you have to learn these things bit by bit. But if there does exist a “Blogging for Dummies”, I’ll be right behind you in line to check it out!

  6. By the way, you described the blogging experience SO well, about being obsessed until you can get your thoughts typed up and perfectly edited and such. Afterwards, I try not to check for comments more frequently than every, oh, ten minutes or so 🙂 Yikes. It’ll be the next twelve-step: BA.

  7. I’ve only been blogging for 6 months, but like you, I would have liked a Blogging for Dummies handbook. I learned things by stumbling and fumbling my way through. There’s something to be said for learning things the hard way.

Your Comment May Be Better Than Story, Please Leave One...

