Justin Rules – Not Jason on This Friday the 13th


Get out the tissues and the smelling salts because there’s a new strain of Bieber Fever that is about to hit all households with tweenaged girls.  That’s right, the DVD version of Justin Bieber’s story, “Never Say Never” is going to be released May 13th.  This Friday the 13th, the star of the show is not a knife-wielding psycho with a hockey mask but rather a Sweet Tart popping, purple heart wearing, Canadian tuxedo outfitted, hockey enthusiast, teenaged heart-throb. 

I have to admit that I didn’t exactly have to be dragged to see the movie in 3D at the theater.  As I recall, I initiated the outing with my six year-old daughter and her friend.  The early buzz on the movie was very good and my curiosity was peaked at how this young kid catapulted to fame – in what seemed like an overnight sensation.

Justin Bieber Tribute Garden

It was hard not to get drawn into the story of how his parents split up when he was a baby and how he was always a musically gifted child.  He’s also one of the first celebrities to go viral via the use of social media, Twitter in particular.  And, who wouldn’t get caught up in the moment when he pulls one lucky audience member on stage as he serenades her with his teen ballad, “One Less Lonely Girl”.  Did I mention the movie was in 3D?  You could “feel” the tears.

If you think Justin Bieber is just a pretty face with a good voice, you’re sadly mistaken.  He could also be a great poster boy for GERD (Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease).  Justin was sidelined right before his big Madison Square Garden debut (SPOILER ALERT:  SKIP THIS PARAGRAPH IF YOU DON’T WANT TO KNOW THE END OF THE MOVIE).  Turns out all those Sweet Tarts and Chicken McNuggets gave The Biebs a mean case of heartburn that affected his vocal cords.  In the climax of the movie, he plays through the pain of missing out on his favorite fast food from The Golden Arches and the show goes on without a hitch.

As a matter of fact, his diagnosis actually helped one of our family members seek proper medical treatment for the same condition.  I’m sure J-Biebs could get a heart-shaped Tums endorsement deal if the teen idol thing goes south or if Donny Osmond sues him for trademark infringement for stealing his purple sock schtick.

Chances are pretty good that we’ll probably cave and purchase the DVD when it goes on sale.  When I was six, if I could watch Bobby Sherman play his guitar while sitting in his hand chair singing, “Julie, Julie, Julie Do Ya Love Me…” over and over again, I would have never left my Technicolor Magnavox television.

Whether it was Elvis, Donny Osmond, David Cassidy, Shawn Cassidy or ‘N Synch, we’ve all been there.  I wonder if Justin will stand the test of time or retire and become an EMT like my Bobby.  One thing is for sure, there will be two less lonely girls adorned in purple hearts (not the military kind) high on Sweet Tarts enjoying their new DVD this Friday the 13th.

 Who was your teen idol crush?
7 thoughts on “Justin Rules – Not Jason on This Friday the 13th

  1. Does anyone except me (and their famous parents) remember Dino, Desi and Billy? Dino was Dean Martin’s son, Desi, duh, ya think? But I can’t for the life of me remember who Billy belonged to. At 58, I’ve now switched my allegience to Steven Tyler! I want ALL his jewelry.

    • O.K. Renee, now you’ve started a whole new “senior” idol thing with my mother and I. We remember the trio but we had to look up Billy on Wikipedia. Then my mom felt really bad for leaving out Dean Martin on her list. Sounds like a new blog topic!

  2. Insightful post. Much better than all those gossipy tales we read about everywhere else. One of my daughter’s school friends has a mad crush on Bieber. My daughter is quite there yet. But, I remember those days from my tween/teenage years, vividly, too. My faves were John Schneider (Dukes of Hazzard) and John Stamos (GH).

Your Comment May Be Better Than Story, Please Leave One...

