The Laughing Daughter


Storytelling is considered a sport in my family.  Nothing gives my parents greater joy than having a laugh at the expense of one of their children or each other.  I was inspired to start this Blog by my family as an outlet for the random thoughts of a stay-at-home mom.  I have to say that lately, some of my best material is coming from my parents. 

For instance, this week they celebrated their 48th wedding anniversary.  No small feat in this divorce ridden era.  While enjoying their daily lunch out, my father copped a caffeine buzz from drinking four diet sodas (the closest thing to a Martini for those with heart conditions), and asked my mom if she wanted to pick out a “bobble” in honor of their marriage.  She said, “A bagel? No, I just ate.  Let’s go look for some dishes.”  Perhaps his offer should have been for a hearing aid.   Just for the record, at anniversary time in my house, “bobble” is associated with a “bobble head” doll.  

After taking my father on a wild goose chase to purchase some dishes for their anniversary gift, their wires finally connected and they ended up at a local jewelry store frequented by several members of our family.  While picking out the “babble” (that’s “bobble” in Sandronics, the language my mother speaks), my mother commented to the sales girl that my father’s defibrillator went off while looking at the price tags. My father replied, “I don’t have one of those, I have an IUD”.  I believe what he meant to say was an ICD, Implantable Cardioverter Defibrillator, not an Intrauterine Device.  They all had a great laugh and my parents rushed to my house like a couple of teenagers to tell the story and show off their purchase. 

It remains to be seen if the real gem was the “bobble” or the great story they proudly provided for my Blog and “Spacebook page” (that’s Facebook in Sandronics).

Your Comment May Be Better Than Story, Please Leave One...

